Home Store In Memoriam Deborah Newsletter Forum Topics Blogfeed Blogroll Facebook MySpace Contact Us About

Fox Airs Video of Victoria's Secret Models While Interviewing Carol Liebau, the Author of "Prude: How the Sex-Obsessed Culture Damages Girls (and America, Too!)"

Reported by Melanie - December 4, 2007 -

Carol Liebau, a "voice from the right" who advocates "American political and religious liberty, free enterprise, limited government, military strength, and traditional values," was a guest on Fox's "premiere business news" show, Your World w/Neil Cavuto today (December 4, 2007). Substitute host Terry Keenan interviewed Liebau about her new book, "Prude: How the Sex-Obsessed Culture Damages Girls (and America, Too!)." Judging from the Victoria's Secret video Fox aired throughout, I'd say the segment was more about sex-obsessed Fox than about how we can protect our girls (and America too!).

Keenan introduced Liebau by saying that she thinks, "[K]ids shouldn't be exposed to this at all... She says it damages our girls and America too. You know what? Victoria's Secret, they're after the young women..."

Liebau went on to say, "Well, they are." "You know, the book argues that in fact America has been letting girls down by tolerating a culture that seems to teach them that being sexy is the most important attribute one can have." There need to be ways girls can "distinguish themselves" other than by "wearing lingerie."

Here's video. It was Victoria's Secret all the way. I mean, Fox didn't even give Liebau the courtesy of going to a split screen. It was full screen VS:

Liebau continued: "The fact that Victoria's Secret puts a lingerie fashion show on television [Note to Liebau: So does Fox.] what you're getting in a lot of American homes, is essentially the same content that once upon a time a man had to go out and buy a Playboy magazine in order to see."

Liebau went on to ask, where are the feminists? "Why the silence about Victoria's Secret, when you have super models walking down the aisle in much less than a lot of those swimsuits on the Miss America contestants?"

Liebau said, "Well all know that people aren't watching the fashion show" so they can decide "what kind of lingerie they're going to buy." Men are "watching it, of course, because they want to see the super models in the scanty outfits which, again, is their prerogative but it's worth thinking about what kind of message that sends to the young people who are home watching." (Yeah, like this afternoon at 4:45 p.m. ET, 3:45 p.m. CT, 2:45 p.m. MT, and 1:45 p.m. PT.)

Here's video of that part:

Comment: This segment reminded me of the time Neil Cavuto hosted James Dobson one minute and women in bras the next. Conservatives have no idea how much sex Fox airs. Far as they know, Fox is as American as apple pie and as long as they think that, Fox will use them just like they used Ms. Liebau today. Hey, sex sells on Fox too.